Student Welfare Committee

The Students’ Welfare Committee (SWC) comprises ten academics and two student representatives each from MBBS and Allied Health Sciences degree programmes. The committee meets monthly and provides a forum for students to raise any issues related to student welfare. The committee also identifies students with financial problems and the most deserving students are assisted either by finding sponsors or through the Medical Students’ Financial Assistance Scheme.

Scholarships and Bursaries

The entire course is free of charge for locally qualified students selected by the University Grants Commission in all state universities and financial assistance schemes are available for students of low-income families. The students are selected for scholarships and bursaries based on their local administrator’s (Gramasevaka’s) recommendations and certification of income level. A student who receives ‘Mahapola’ is not eligible for a bursary.


The ‘Mahapola’ scholarship is awarded by the Mahapola Trust Fund, and students are selected primarily based on their merit order and a small proportion on the parental income.


The bursary scheme is for students with low parental income. The recipient students are selected according to University criteria.

Medical Students Financial Assistance Scheme

This scheme was established in 2003 and is monitored by the Student Welfare Committee, a statutory body of the Faculty. Needy students are selected by a process of application followed by an interview. The number of students and the amount given per student for a particular year is decided by the Student Welfare Committee, depending on the availability of funds.

Accommodation Facilities

The first year and final year students are eligible for University hostel facilities. Students may contact the Student Welfare Centre for further details.