The students’ help desk is established to provide counselling services and necessary support for the students at the Faculty of Medical Sciences, Sri Jayewardenepura ensuring confidentiality and privacy.


  • Offer a responsive, counselling and referral service to medical students experiencing a wide range and degree of emotional and psychological difficulties thus ensuring student retention, academic achievement and progression.
  • Providing front-line assessment, support and referral for students with acute and chronic mental health difficulties
  • Screen first year students for psychological problems

We offer services to students with:

  • Poor academic achievement
  • Relationship problems
  • Family disputes
  • Stress
  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Grief
  • Financial difficulties
  • Substance abuse
  • Self-harm
  • Discrimination/harassment/abuse

How to Access Help

Students has the option of choosing a student counsellor (internal academic counselor of an external councilor) or directly contacting psychiatric services provided by the Department of Psychiatry.

Services by designated student counsellors

During working hours (working days 8 am to 4 pm)

External Student Counselors

External student counselors are independent counsellors attached to the UMO office. They will provide their service with competence and abiding strictly by the ethical standards of counselling. They would not be your teachers or examiners or attached to the FMS in any manner.

A student can obtain an appointment and meet an external student counselor by calling University Medical Center hotline (0113413488, 0112803199)

Counselling schedule and contact details of external student counselors will be available in the University medical center web page.

Mr. Ishan Edirisooriya

Mobile: 071 4018383

Ms. Rasika Manohari

Mobile: 071 4306249

Ms. P.P.U. Lakmali

Mobile: 071 5735470

Ms. Kalyani Jayasinghe

Mobile: 071 4402430

Internal Student Counselors

There are four designated student counselors. You may drop a text message or call and obtain an appointment. Fixing a time at your convenience is possible.

Dr. Sajith Edirisinghe

Mobile: 071 6090858

Dedicated time for counselling
Monday 12.00 – 1.00 pm

Dr. Aruni de Silva

Mobile: 077 3826592

Dedicated time for counselling
Tuesday 12.00 – 2.00 pm

Dr. Chaminda Hunukumbure

Mobile: 071 4785836

Dedicated time for counselling
Wednesday 12.00 – 2.00 pm

Dr. Chandana Hewage

Mobile: 071 4422326

Dedicated time for counselling
Thursday 12.00 – 2.00 pm

Dr. Luckshika Amarakoon

Telephone: 011 2802497

Dr. Luckshika Amarakoon is a lecturer in the department of Psychiatry. Students can contact the Dept of Psychiatry via 0112802497 and get an appointment for a session.

Services by the Department of Psychiatry

Dr. Dulshika Waas, Dr. Prasangika Senaviratne Alles and Dr. Lukshika Amarakoon are Consultant Psychiatrists available either at Colombo South Teaching Hospital ward 33 (Manasuwa Piyasa) or at the Department of Psychiatry.

Students can contact the Department of Psychiatry (011 2802497) and obtain an appointment during working hours.

Twenty four hour walk in services are available at Colombo South Teaching Hospital ward 33 either directly or through OPD. Students can get the access to a consultant psychiatrist through the on call doctor.

Ward 33 – 011 2832955, 011 2763063-5 (Ext- 2522, 2524, 2162)