• 1.png



Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura

The Faculty of Medical Sciences was established in 1993 at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura as the sixth medical faculty in Sri Lanka. Although a young faculty, our graduates have secured top positions in the common grading list (merit list) of medical graduates in Sri Lanka and our students continue to excel at the postgraduate level.

The faculty is guided by Professor Aloka Pathirana, the Dean and Senior Professor of Surgery. The academic staff consists of senior specialist with many years of experience in the clinical and academic activities and a dynamic group of young consultants/specialists. There are 39 Professors, 52 Senior Lecturers and 28 Lecturers working full time in addition to the extended faculty. Ministry of Health staff in hospital sector, general practitioners and many other institutions are involved in training our undergraduates. There are 140 supporting staff assisting in carrying out academic activities, research and other service components. Apart from the routine academic work, most staff members are involved in research with local and international collaborations.