Ten (10) academic members of the Faculty of Medical Sciences received the "President's Awards for Scientific Publication 2016" organized by National Research Council held on 19th November 2018 at Taj Samudra, Colombo.

Awards are given to Sri Lankan scientists with a Sri Lankan institutional affiliation who publish their work in journals indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded. The awards system include a measure of journal quality based on impact Factor as well as the quantum of research published by a scientist.

The ceremony was graced by His Excellency the President Maithripala Sirisena and the Hon. Minister Mohan Lal Grero, Minister of Science, Technology and Research.



List of Awardees

  1. Prof. Surangi Yasawardene
  2. Prof. Aloka Pathirana
  3. Prof. Neelika Malavige
  4. Prof. Ranil de Silva
  5. Prof. Priyadarshika Hettiarachchi
  6. Dr. Shyamali Samaranayake
  7. Dr. Sanjaya Huladduwa
  8. Dr. Chandima Jeewandara
  9. Emeritus Prof. M.S.A. Perera
  10. Prof. S.D. Jayaratne
  11. Prof. Kamani Samarasinghe
  12. Dr. R.J. Peiris-John
  13. Dr. S.S.P. Warunakulasuriya
  14. Dr. A.I. Kamaladasa
  15. Dr. B.J. Mendis
  16. Dr. W. Printha